CA Employment Law FAQ

Category: Employment Labor Law FAQ

CAN A COMPANY FIRE YOU FOR NO REASON?

 CAN A COMPANY FIRE YOU FOR NO REASON? The short answer is yes. In California employment is considered to be “at will” which means that you can be fired at any time with or without cause and for no reason. There are some exceptions to this general rule, however.

Read More »

CAN AN EMPLOYER FORCE YOU TO WORK OVERTIME?

CAN AN EMPLOYER FORCE YOU TO WORK OVERTIME? Yes. An employer can ask you to work overtime. If you don’t want to work the overtime you have a couple of choices – you can get another job where you don’t have to work overtime hours, you can try to negotiate

Read More »

CAN SALARIED EMPLOYEES GET OVERTIME?

CAN SALARIED EMPLOYEES GET OVERTIME? Yes, in some circumstances. An employee can be paid on a salary basis and still be non-exempt. This means that they are entitled to overtime pay for all hours worked after eight hours in a day and after 40 hours in a workweek in California.

Read More »

WHAT IS PREVAILING WAGE?

WHAT IS PREVAILING WAGE? Under California law prevailing wage rates are set by statute for contractors and sub-contractors that perform work on state, municipal and local public works projects with a value of over $1,000.00. Under prevailing wage law, workers must be paid certain rates of pay for each type

Read More »

HOW TO CALCULATE OVERTIME PAY?

HOW TO CALCULATE OVERTIME PAY? In California, overtime pay is calculated based on the employee’s regular rate of pay. For example, if an employee earns $20 per hour, the overtime rate for a non-exempt employee would be $30 per hour which equals one and a half times the regular rate

Read More »

WHAT IS THE AVERAGE SETTLEMENT FOR A WRONGFUL TERMINATION CASE?

 WHAT IS THE AVERAGE SETTLEMENT FOR A WRONGFUL TERMINATION CASE? There are many factors that determine the amount of a settlement. Generally speaking, wrongful termination settlements include past lost wages, future lost wages (after the termination until you find another comparable job) and losses you sustained due to emotional

Read More »

HOW MUCH IS OVERTIME PAY?

HOW MUCH IS OVERTIME PAY? In California, overtime pay for non-exempt employees is paid at a rate of one and a half times the employees regular rate of pay for work performed for an employer beyond 8 hours in a workday or 40 hours in a workweek. Windsor Troy

Read More »

WHAT IS OVERTIME PAY?

WHAT IS OVERTIME PAY? Overtime pay in California is a premium paid to employees for work performed beyond 8 hours in a workday or beyond 40 hours in a workweek. Windsor Troy

Read More »

What should I do if I was sexually harassed?

If you were sexually harassed at work, the first step is to communicate to the harasser that their behavior is unwelcome, and ask them to stop. If the behavior continues, you should bring your complaint to your immediate supervisor. If your company has a detailed procedure for filing sexual harassment claims,

Read More »

We use cookies to improve your experience and provide personalized content. By continuing to use our site, you agree to our Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and our use of cookies as described in our Cookie Policy.